Exhibitions & EventsDetroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute Of Awesome
Detroit Institute Of Awesome

Relax and recharge with your whole family

Every Saturday and Sunday the DIA transforms into the Detroit Institute of Awesome, with a weekend full of activities especially created for kids and their grown-ups. Make an art project, take a guided family tour of the collection, and visit our art carts for hands-on games for children of all ages. We’ll also have a special family program every afternoon – enjoy animated films, puppet shows or artist demonstrations.

This program is supported in part by an award from the DTE Energy Foundation.


 
Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

MLK Day Gallery Games

Monday, January 16, 2017

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

International Coffee and Tea Festival

Saturday, January 21, 2017 – Sunday, January 22, 2017

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Performance: Nayika Project

Lecture Hall

Sunday, January 29, 2017

2 p.m.

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Artist Demonstration: Ivan Day and the Edible Monument

Prentis Court

Sunday, February 05, 2017

12 - 4 p.m.

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Chinese New Year Celebration

  • Saturday, February 11, 2017 -
  • Sunday, February 12, 2017 -
Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Art Demonstration: The Happy Heart

  • Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 12 - 4 p.m.
  • Sunday, February 19, 2017 - 12 - 4 p.m.
Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Storytelling: La’Ron Williams

  • Saturday, February 25, 2017 - 2 p.m.
  • Sunday, February 26, 2017 - 2 p.m.