Exhibitions & EventsDetroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute Of Awesome
Detroit Institute Of Awesome

Relax and recharge with your whole family

Every Saturday and Sunday the DIA transforms into the Detroit Institute of Awesome, with a weekend full of activities especially created for kids and their grown-ups. Make an art project, take a guided family tour of the collection, and visit our art carts for hands-on games for children of all ages. We’ll also have a special family program every afternoon – enjoy animated films, puppet shows or artist demonstrations.

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Cultural Demonstration: Mexico Holiday Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead)

Prentis Court

Saturday, October 01, 2016 – Sunday, October 02, 2016

Noon - 4p.m.

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Songwriting with Audra Kubat

Great Hall

October 8, 2016

1 p.m. & 3 p.m.

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Songs and Poems of Songwriting Workshops & InsideOut Literary Arts Project–Hosted by Audra Kubat

Rivera Court

October 9, 2016

2 p.m.

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Ofrenda Altars: A Celebration of Dia de los Muertos

Special Exhibitions: Central

Friday, October 21, 2016 – Sunday, November 06, 2016

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Puppet Performance: Marionetas de la Esquina's La Chorcha de las Calacas

Lecture Hall

Saturday, October 22, 2016 – Sunday, October 23, 2016

2:00 PM

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Cultural Demonstration: Aztec Traditions

  • Saturday, October 29, 2016 - 2 p.m.
  • Sunday, October 30, 2016 - 2 p.m.
Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Cultural Performance: Ballet Folklórico de Detroit

  • Saturday, November 05, 2016 - 1:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 05, 2016 - 3:00 PM
Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Cultural Demonstration: Ofrenda Artist Talk

Lecture Hall

November 6, 2016

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

Cultural Demonstration: Stories and Dances of the Ho-Chunk Nation

  • Friday, November 25, 2016 - 2 p.m.
  • Saturday, November 26, 2016 - 2 p.m.
  • Sunday, November 27, 2016 - 2 p.m.

Detroit Institute of Awesome

FAMILY PROGRAMS - Puppet Performance: A Christmas Carol (Oy Hanukkah & Merry Kwanzaa)

  • Sunday, December 04, 2016 - 2:00 PM

Detroit Institute of Awesome

FAMILY PROGRAMS - Storytelling: Ivory Williams “Stories of Kwanzaa”

Saturday, December 17, 2016

2:00 PM

Detroit Institute of Awesome

FAMILY PROGRAMS - Storytelling: Judy Sima “Hanukkah the Festival of Lights”

Sunday, December 18, 2016

2:00 PM

Detroit Institute of Awesome

TEA-TIME THEATRE: ALICE IN WONDERLAND

  • Monday, December 26, 2016 - 3:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 27, 2016 - 3:00 PM
Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

TEA-TIME THEATRE: KIKI'S DELIVERY SERVICE

  • Wednesday, December 28, 2016 - 3:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 29, 2016 - 3:00 PM
Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

TEA-TIME THEATRE: THE SECRET WORLD OF ARRIETTY

  • Friday, December 30, 2016 - 3:00 PM
Detroit Institute of Awesome

Detroit Institute of Awesome

TEA-TIME THEATRE: BOY AND THE WORLD

  • Saturday, December 31, 2016 - 3:00 PM