The 2020 Academy Award® Nominated Short Films: Animation and Live Action

Since 2007, the DFT’s most popular annual program has provided the pleasure of discovery and astonishment at the ways in which cinema can tell stories with fresh vision and unbridled imagination. As in previous years, the 2020 Oscar® Shorts program will combine all the nominees in the short animation and live-action categories – ten shorts in all – into one spectacular showcase, with an intermission between the two categories.

Make your picks and see the winners announced when the Oscars® are awarded on February 9. If past years are any measure, advance ticket purchase is strongly recommended! And be sure to also catch the Short Documentary nominees, playing as a separate program. (Approximately three-and-a-half hours, with one intermission) 

Showings

  • Friday, January 31 @ 7:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 1 @ 2:00 and 7:00 PM
  • Sunday, February 2 @ 1:00 and 6:00 PM
  • Wednesday, February 5 @ 7:00 PM
  • Friday, February 7 @ 7:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 8 @ 7:00 PM
  • Sunday, February 9 @ 1:00 PM
  • Wednesday, February 12 @ 7:00 PM
  • Thursday, February 13 @ 7:00 PM
  • Friday, February 14 @ 7:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 15 @ 7:00 PM
  • Sunday, February 16 @ 1:00 PM

 

 

The Detroit Film Theatre is generously supported by Buddy's Pizza and your tri-county millage investment in the DIA.

Buddy's Pizza Logo