Events

A still of two girls from an animated film

The 2019 Academy Award® Nominated Short Films - animated and live action

  • Fri, Feb 8 - Thu, Feb 28, 2019 (dates and times below)
  • Detroit Film Theatre

As in previous years, the 2019 Oscar® Shorts program will present all five nominees in both the short animation and live-action short film categories in one spectacular presentation.

A woman carefully working on a large mural

The 2019 Academy Award® Nominated Short Films - Documentary

  • Sat, Feb 9, 2:00 p.m | Thu, Feb 14, 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Feb 23, 2:00 p.m., 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

We’re delighted to present again this year a program of all of the Academy Award® nominated short documentary films.

Never Look Away

Never Look Away

  • Fri, Mar 1 - 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Mar 2 - 7:00 p.m. | Sun, Mar 3 - 5:00 p.m. | Fri, Mar 8 - 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Mar 9 - 7:00 p.m. | Sun, Mar 10 - 5 p.m. , 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Visually rich and emotionally complex, Never Look Away is Germany’s Foreign Language submission to this year’s Academy Awards®.

Two traditional Japanese dolls

Japanese Girls Day

  • Sat, Mar 2, 12:00 - 5:00 p.m. | Sun, Mar 3, 12:00 - 5:00 p.m. , 2019
  • Detroit Institute of Arts

A weekend exploring traditional and modern aspects of Japanese culture in celebration of Hinamatsuri - or Japanese Girls Day.

A baby napping with a tabby cat

CatVideoFest 2019

  • Sat, Mar 9 - 12:30, 3:00 & 5:00 p.m. | Sun, Mar 10 - 12:30 & 3:00 p.m., 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Exactly what the name suggests, the CatVideoFest is a hand-selected, curated collection of around 80 minutes’ worth of the most entertaining cat videos of the year.

Ruben Brandt, Collector

Ruben Brandt, Collector

  • Fri, Mar 15 - 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Mar 16 - 5:00, 7:00 & 9:30 p.m. | Sun, Mar 17 - 2:00 & 4:30 p.m., 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Official submission for Best Animated Feature, 2018 Academy Awards®.

A painting by Ruben Toledo of Bill Cunningham photographing a woman while riding a bike

The Times of Bill Cunningham

  • Sat, Mar 16 , 2019
  • 2:00 PM
  • Detroit Film Theatre

The Times of Bill Cunningham is a documentary from Mark Bozek detailing the story of legendary New York Times fashion photographer Bill Cunningham.

Life and Nothing More

Life and Nothing More

  • Fri, Mar 22 - 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Mar 23 - 7 p.m. | Sun, Mar 24 - 4:30 p.m. , 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

A compassionate and involving story of an African American single mother, Regina, stressed by her restaurant job and doing her best to raise her two children in northern Florida.

Lila’s Book

DFT Animation Club: Lila’s Book

  • Sat, Mar 23 - 2:00 p.m. | Sun, Mar 24 - 2:00 p.m., 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Ripped from the pages a children’s book, Lila finds herself trapped in the physical world and discovers that one of her most avid readers, Ramón, has grown up and is beginning to forget her.

A still of two women from the film 3 Faces

3 Faces

  • Fri, Mar 29 - 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Mar 30 - 4:00 & 7:00 p.m. | Sun, Mar 31 - 2:00 & 4:30 p.m., 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Revered Iranian actress Behnaz Jafari (playing herself) receives an alarming video shot by a young woman on a smartphone.

Pages