Events

A man and his dog viewing an Inside|Out piece in Brush Park

Inside|Out 2019

  • Through October 31, 2019

In its tenth year, Inside|Out brings high-quality reproductions of masterpieces from the museum's collection to outdoor venues throughout Metro Detroit.

Art pins example

Drop-In Workshop: 4th Annual Hazon Michigan Jewish Food Festival

  • Sun, Aug 18 , 2019
  • 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Eastern Market Corporation

Join the DIA at the 4th Annual Hazon Michigan Jewish Food Festival and make an art pin with reversal film slides.

Celebration masks

Drop-In Workshop Warren Birthday Bash

  • 5:00 - 7:00 p.m. Thu, Aug 22 & Fri, Aug 23 | 12:00 - 7:00 p.m. Sat, Aug 24 & Sun, Aug 25, 2019
  • Warren Civic Center

Join DIA at Warren Birthday Bash 2019 and make a celebration mask.

Chinese Dragon Faces

Drop-In Workshop: 11th Annual Dragon on the Lake

  • 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Sat, Aug 24 | 12:00 - 5:00 p.m. Sun, Aug 25, 2019
  • Near Orion Art Center

Join DIA at the 11th Annual Dragon on the Lake and make a dragon mask. 

Examples of tambourines made out of paper plates

Drop-In Workshop: Hazel Park Art Fair

  • Sun, Aug 25 , 2019
  • 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Green Acres Park

Join the DIA at Hazel Park Art Fair and make a tambourine.

Wrist and ankle rattles

Drop-In Workshop: Romeo Peach Fest

  • 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. | Thu, Aug 29, Fri, Aug 30, & Sun, Sep 1, 2019
  • Starkweather Arts Center

Join the DIA at Starkweather Arts Center during Romeo Peach Fest and make a wrist and ankle Rattle.

Paper Flowers

Drop-In Workshop: Romeo Peach Fest KidsFest

  • Sat, Aug 31 , 2019
  • 9:30 AM - 1:00 PM
  • Romeo Village Park

Join the DIA at Romeo Peach Fest KidsFest and make a paper flower. 

Watercolor Postcards

Off-site Drop-In Workshop at Art & Apples Festival

  • 2:00 - 7:30 p.m. Fri, Sep 6 | 9:00 a.m. - 7:30 p.m. Sat, Sep 7 | 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Sun, Sep 8, 2019
  • Rochester Municipal Park

Join DIA studio artists at the Art & Apples Festival and create Watercolor Postcards of your own design to send to friends and family.

Artist Trading Cards, Drop-In Workshop activity

Drop-In Workshop: Richmond Good Old Days Festival

  • Sat, Sep 7 , 2019
  • 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
  • Richmond Community Center

Join the DIA at Richmond Good Old Days and make an artist trading card. 

Hand-colored paper tiles

Drop-In Workshop: Lac Ste. Claire Fine Art Fair

  • 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. | Sat, Sep 14 & Sun, Sep 15, 2019
  • Veterans Memorial Park

Join the DIA at Lac Ste. Claire Fine Art Fair and create an initial tile.

Pages