Events

Manuscript of the “Perfection of Wisdom in Eight Thousand Verses” (Ashtasahasrika Prajnaparamita)

Robert & Katherine Jacobs Asian Wing Opening

  • Opening Nov 4 , 2018
  • Detroit Institute of Arts

The DIA’s new Robert and Katherine Jacobs Asian Wing presents works of art from the world’s largest continent, featuring recent acquisitions together with longtime DIA treasures coming back onto view .

An example of patterns, symbols, and designs workshop

Drop-In Workshop: Patterns, Symbols, & Designs

  • 6 - 9 p.m. Fri, Dec 14 | 12 - 4 p.m. Sat, Dec 15 & Sun, Dec 16 , 2018
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Use rubber stamps and fabric markers to give your own personal meaning to a decorated piece of silk fabric. 

Luminaries

Drop-In Workshop: Luminaries

  • 6 - 9 p.m. Fri, Dec 21 | 12 - 4 p.m. Sat, Dec 22 & Sun, Dec 23 , 2018
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Explore infinite patterns and colors using tissue paper on a simple glass jar that you can illuminate at home with a small candle, like a tea light.

Winter Village

Drop-In Workshop: Winter Village

  • 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. Wed, Dec 26 & Thu, Dec 27 , 2018
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Friends and family, food and drinks, ice skating and shopping are some things that might come to mind when you think about a winter village.

Winter Village

Drop-In Workshop: Winter Village

  • Fri, Dec 28 , 2018
  • 12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Friends and family, food and drinks, ice skating and shopping are some things that might come to mind when you think about a winter village.

Winter Village

Drop-In Workshop: Winter Village

  • 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. Sat, Dec 29 | 11 a.m. - 4 p.m. Sun, Dec 30 , 2018
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Friends and family, food and drinks, ice skating and shopping are some things that might come to mind when you think about a winter village.

Drop-In Workshop: Winter Village

Drop-In Workshop: Winter Village

  • Mon, Dec 31 , 2018
  • 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Friends and family, food and drinks, ice skating and shopping are some things that might come to mind when you think about a winter village.

Paper Dolls, Drop-In Workshop

Drop-In Workshop: Paper Dolls

  • Fri, Jan 4 , 2019
  • 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Use one of our patterns or make your own, then design one-of-a-kind clothing for a paper doll.

Paper Dolls, Drop-In Workshop

Drop-In Workshop: Paper Dolls

  • 12 - 4 p.m. Sat, Jan 5 & Sun, Jan 6 , 2019
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Use one of our patterns or make your own, then design one-of-a-kind clothing for a paper doll.

Drop-In Workshiop: Snow Snakes

Drop In Workshop: Snow Snakes

  • Fri, Jan 11 , 2019
  • 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Learn a traditional Inuit game and decorate a simple stick to look like a snake.

Pages