Events

An example of printmaking notecards

Drop-In Workshop: Printmaking Notecards

  • 1:30 - 4:00 p.m. | Sat, Dec 7 & Sun, Dec 8, 2019
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Use foam printing plates, water-based inks and a wooden stylus to create beautiful, one-of-a-kind hand-pulled prints on paper. 

Papel Picado, Drop-In Workshop

Drop-In Workshop: Papel Picado

  • Fri, Dec 13 , 2019
  • 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Make your own Papel Picado, which literally means “punched” or “perforated” paper.

"The Wedding Dance," 1566, Pieter Bruegel the Elder, Netherlandish; oil on wood panel. Detroit Institute of Arts.

Bruegel's “The Wedding Dance” Revealed

  • Sat, Dec 14, 2019 - Sun, Aug 30, 2020
  • Detroit Institute of Arts

This exhibition celebrates one of the DIA's most iconic paintings, Pieter Bruegel's The Wedding Dance (1566) on the occasion of the 450th anniversary of the artist's death.

Papel Picado, Drop-In Workshop

Drop-In Workshop: Papel Picado

  • 1:30 - 4:00 p.m. | Sat, Oct 14 & Sun, Oct 15, 2019
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Make your own Papel Picado, which literally means “punched” or “perforated” paper.

Luminaries

Thursdays at the Museum: Luminaries

  • Thu, Dec 19 , 2019
  • 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art Making Studio

Every Thursday at 1 p.m. the Detroit Institute of Arts offers programs for adults 55+.

Custom made envelopes

Drop-In Workshop: Cards and Envelopes

  • Fri, Dec 20 , 2019
  • 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Explore creative possibilities with paper as you learn to make your own envelopes, and cards.

Rows of older television screens

Recorder: The Marion Stokes Project

  • 7:00 p.m. Fri, Dec 20 | 4:30 & 7:00 p.m. Sat, Dec 21 | 2:00 & 4:30 p.m. Sun, Dec 22, 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Recorder is a mesmerizing study of an obsessed archivist who believed taping was activism – an unassailable record of the truth

Custom made envelopes

Drop-In Workshop: Cards and Envelopes

  • 1:30 - 4:00 p.m. | Sat, Dec 21 & Sun, Dec 22, 2019
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Explore creative possibilities with paper as you learn to make your own envelopes, and cards.

Villagers climbing a mountain

The Mill and The Cross

  • Sat, Dec 21 , 2019
  • 2:00 PM
  • Detroit Film Theatre

The Mill and the Cross focuses on a dozen characters whose stories unfold and intertwine in a landscape populated by villagers and red-caped horsemen.

Drop-In Workshop: Winter Village

Drop-In Workshop: Winter Village

  • 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Thu, Dec 26 | 12:00 - 9:00 p.m. Fri, Dec 27 | 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Sat, Dec 28 | 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Sun, Dec 29 | 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m Mon, Dec 30 | 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. Tues, Dec 31, 2019
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Friends and family, food and drinks, ice skating and shopping are some things that might come to mind when you think about a winter village.