The town square of our community, a gathering place for everybody

Founded in 1885, the museum was originally located on Jefferson Avenue, but, due to its rapidly expanding collection, moved to the current site on Woodward Avenue in 1927. The Beaux-Arts building, designed by Paul Cret, was immediately referred to as the "temple of art." Two wings were added in the 1960s and 1970s, and a major renovation and expansion that began in 1999 was completed in 2007.

The museum covers 658,000 square feet that includes more than 100 galleries, a 1,150-seat auditorium, a 380-seat lecture/recital hall, an art reference library, and a state-of-the-art conservation services laboratory.

The DIA's collection is among the top six in the United States, with more than 65,000 works. The foundation was laid by William Valentiner, who was director from 1924 to 1945 and acquired many important works that established the framework of today's collections. Among his notable acquisitions are Mexican artist Diego Rivera's Detroit Industry fresco cycle, which Rivera considered his most successful work, and Vincent van Gogh's Self-Portrait, the first Van Gogh painting to enter a U.S. museum collection.

A hallmark of the DIA is the diversity of the collection. In addition to outstanding American, European, Modern and Contemporary, and Graphic art, the museum holds significant works of African, Asian, Native American, Oceanic, Islamic, and Ancient art. In 2000, the DIA established the General Motors Center for African American Art as a curatorial department in order to broaden the museum's collection of African American art.


The DIA is supported in part by the Michigan Arts and Culture Council and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Logos for the Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs and the National Endowment for the Arts
  1. Bryan C. Barnhill II  
  2. Ann Berman 
  3. Dr. Charles M. Boyd 
  4. Richard A. Brodie 
  5. Denise Brooks-Williams 
  6. Lindsey Buhl 
  7. Lane Coleman 
  8. Mary Culler 
  9. Lillian Demas 
  10. Marla Donovan 
  11. Nicole Eisenberg 
  12. Cynthia N. Ford 
  13. Christine Giampetroni 
  14. Thomas Guastello 
  15. John R. Hantz 
  16. Sonia Hassan 
  17. Hassan K. Jaber 
  18. Robert B. Jacobs 
  19. David P. Larsen 
  20. Bonnie Ann Larson 
  21. Matthew B. Lester 
  22. John D. Lewis 
  23. Dr. Hubert W. Massey 
  24. Nancy Mitchell 
  25. Takashi Omitsu 
  26. Jennifer Hudson Parke 
  27. Marsha L. Philpot/Music 
  28. Judith Pritchett, Ph.D. 
  29. Christine Provost 
  30. Mohammad Qazi 
  31. W Fair Radom 
  32. Victoria J. Rogers, observer 
  33. Tony Saunders 
  34. Renata C. Seals 
  35. Paula F. Silver 
  36. Buzz Thomas 
  37. Lorna Thomas, M.D. 
  38. Jason E. Tinsley 
  39. Molly Valade 
  40. Padma Vattikuti 
  41. Kimberley Wiegand 

Chairman | Eugene A. Gargaro, Jr.

Vice Chairs | Rhonda D. Welburn, Ralph J. Gerson

Secretary | Lawrence T. Garcia

Legal Counsel | Josh Opperer, Alan S. Schwartz

  1. Hon. Charles W. Anderson III
  2. Jeffrey T. Antaya
  3. Tina Bassett
  4. Chacona Johnson-Baugh
  5. Yvette Bing
  6. Andrew L. Camden
  7. Warren J. Coville
  8. Elaine C. Driker
  9. Hon. Trudy DunCombe Archer
  10. Kenneth Eisenberg
  11. Walter O. Evans
  12. Dede Feldman
  13. Jennifer Fischer
  14. David M. Hempstead
  15. Jean Wright Hudson
  16. George G. Johnson
  17. Ralph J. Mandarino
  18. Richard A. Manoogian
  19. Dave E. Meador
  20. Reuben A. Munday
  21. Glenda D. Price
  22. Katherine D. Rines
  23. Diane M. Schoenith
  24. Thomas W. Sidlik
  25. John W. Stroh III
  26. Samuel Thomas, Jr.
  27. Reginald M. Turner, Jr.
  28. Amanda Van Dusen
  29. Janis Wetsman
  30. Hon. Helene N. White
  31. Trudi K. Wineman
  1. Maggie Allesee
  2. Hon. Dennis W. Archer
  3. Dr. Bettye Arrington-Martin
  4. David Bing
  5. Gayle Shaw Camden
  6. Mary Kay Crain
  7. Junia Doan
  8. Peter A. Dow
  9. Sis Fisher
  10. Marilyn Flint
  11. Sidney E. Forbes
  12. Edsel B. Ford II
  13. Eleanore Gabrys
  14. Mary Anne Gargaro
  15. Stephanie Germack-Kerzic
  16. Allan D. Gilmour
  17. Robert Gorlin
  18. Argentina Hills
  19. David B. Lewis
  20. John Marshall
  21. Mariam Noland
  22. Anne Parsons
  23. Philip H. Power
  24. Ellen Price
  25. John Rakolta, Jr.
  26. Ruth F. Rattner
  27. Maureen Roberts
  28. Roy Roberts
  29. Richard L. Rogers
  30. A. Paul Schaap
  31. Carol C. Schaap
  32. Dennis Scholl
  33. Alan E. Schwartz
  34. Alan S. Schwartz
  35. Nettie H. Seabrooks
  36. William W. Shelden, Jr.
  37. William H. Smith
  38. Eliot R. Stark
  39. Nicole Stroh
  40. S. Martin Taylor
  41. Raj Vattikuti
  42. Joan Webber
  43. William Wetsman