Black History Month 2021

The Detroit Institute of Arts invites you to celebrate Black History Month at home with free online programs including music, films, art talks and art-making, events for foodies, seniors, and kids of all ages.

Black History Month at the DIA is generously supported by Arn & Nancy Tellem and additional support is provided by TD Bank.

Wednesday, Feb 3

  • 6:30 p.m. // Wind Down Wednesdays | More >

Thursday, Feb 4

  • 1 p.m. // TATM presents: Artist Demonstration (for seniors) | More >

Friday, Feb 5

  • DFT streaming // Unapologetic | More >

Saturday, Feb 6

  • 11 a.m. // I ❤ My Blackness & Yours: Celebrating Black Photographers | More >
  • DFT streaming // Unapologetic | More >

Sunday, Feb 7 

  • 2 p.m. // The Black Body's Connection to its Environments | More >
  • DFT streaming // Unapologetic | More >

Wednesday, Feb 10

  • 6:30 p.m. // Wind Down Wednesdays | More >

Thursday, Feb 11 

  • 1 p.m. // TATM presents African Art (for seniors) | More >

Friday, Feb 12

  • DFT streaming // Hale County This Morning, This Evening | More >

Saturday, Feb 13

  • 11 a.m. // I ❤ My Blackness & Yours: Celebrating Black Photographers | More >
  • DFT streaming // Hale County This Morning, This Evening | More >

Sunday, Feb 14

  • 11 a.m. // The Art of Business (Virtual) Panel | More >
  • DFT streaming // Hale County This Morning, This Evening | More >

Tuesday, Feb 16

  • 6:30 // Hughie Lee-Smith: A Detroit Story | More >

Wednesday, Feb 17

  • 6:30 p.m. // Wind Down Wednesdays | More >

Thursday, Feb 18

  • 1 p.m. // TATM presents  African American Art (for seniors) | More >

Friday, Feb 19 - Sunday, Feb 21 

  • DFT Streaming // Nationtime | More >

Wednesday, Feb 24

  • 6:30 p.m. // Wind Down Wednesdays | More >

Thursday, Feb 25

  • 1 p.m. // TATM presents Mandabi (film, for seniors) | More >

Streaming

  • Music of Florence Price // starting Feb 15 | More >
  • Films of Reverend Solomon Sir Jones // starting Feb 8 | More >
  • Friday Night Live! Chantae Cann | More >
  • Short Films of Kristian R. Hill // starting Feb 15 | More >
  • The Old Westside // starting Feb 22 | More >
  • Friday Night Live! Charity | More >

Other resources

  • Black History Month editions of the DIA Collection Crossword | More >
  • #InTheFrameDIA Art-Making | More >
  • Mixed Media Animals Art-Making | More >
  • Learning resource: Scavenger Hunt of DIA African American Artworks | More >

 

Check us out on Facebook and YouTube all month long for even more #BlackHistoryDIA content. 

 

Download the printable schedule >

 

Black History Month at the DIA is generously supported by Arn & Nancy Tellem and additional support is provided by TD Bank.