Events

A still of two dancers from Cunningham

Cunningham

  • 2:00, 4:30 & 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Feb 29, 2020
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Brings to life the work of visionary choreographer and dancer Merce Cunningham in commemoration of his centennial

Princess Kaguya from the film The Tale of Princess Kaguya

DFT Family: The Tale of Princess Kaguya

  • 12:00 & 2:45 p.m. Sun, Mar, 1 2020
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Found inside a shining stalk of bamboo by an old bamboo cutter and his wife, a tiny girl grows rapidly into an exquisite young lady.

Spellbound

Salvador Dalí on Screen: Spellbound

  • 2:00 p.m. Sat, Mar 7 & Sun, Mar 8, 2020
  • Detroit Film Theatre

One of the most cynical and flat-out hilarious comedies from Britain’s legendary Ealing Studios.

A courtroom scene in a still from the film The Traitor

The Traitor

  • 4:30 & 7:00 p.m. Sat, Mar 7 | 4:30 p.m. Sun, Mar 8 | 9:15 p.m. Fri, Mar 13 2020
  • Detroit Film Theatre

The real-life story of a mafia boss who fled to Brazil in the wake of a war between Sicilian mob bosses over the local heroin trade

Pauline Kael in black and white, sitting and laughing by a window

What She Said: The Art of Pauline Kael

  • 7:00 p.m. Fri, Mar 13 | 4:30 & 7:00 p.m. Sat, Mar 14 | 4:30 p.m. Sun, Mar 15, 2020
  • Detroit Film Theatre

In a field that historically embraced few women film critics, Pauline Kael was controversial, witty and fiercely discerning.

The Muppets from The Muppet Movie

DFT Family: The Muppet Movie

  • 2:00 p.m. Sat, Mar 14 | 2:00 p.m. Sun, Mar, 15 2020
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Laugh along with the mostly-true story of how the Muppets got their start.

A still from the film Mr. Klein

Mr. Klein

  • 7:00 p.m. Fri, Mar 20 | 4:00 & 7:00 p.m. Sat, Mar 21 | 2:00 & 4:30 p.m. Sun, Mar 22, 2020
  • Detroit Film Theatre

In Nazi-occupied France, an art dealer exploits the situation by buying cheap works of art from Jews desperate to escape.

Five men and a woman standing in room with plastic hanging from the walls

The Whistlers

  • 4:00 & 7:00 p.m. Sat, Mar 28 | 2:00 & 4:30 p.m. Sun, Mar 29, 2020
  • Detroit Film Theatre

In this entertaining crime thriller, a corrupt cop named Cristi travels to the Canary Islands to collaborate with mobsters on a heist.

Italian Film Festival Logo

The Italian Film Festival USA

  • 7:00 p.m. Wed, Apr 1 | 7:00 p.m. Fri, Apr 3 | 5:00 & 8:00 p.m. Sat, Apr 4 | 4:30 p.m. Sun, Apr 5, 2020
  • Detroit Film Theatre

The Italian Film Festival USA returns to Metro Detroit for a new edition of contemporary Italian titles!

A blond woman holding a guitar in a music shop

Inside the Music: Carmine Street Guitars

  • Thu, Apr 9 , 2020
  • 7:00 PM
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Carmine Street Guitars captures five days in the heart of Greenwich Village.

Pages