Events

A photo of André Leon Talley in all black against a floral background

The Gospel According to André

  • Sat, Feb 2 , 2019
  • 2:00 PM
  • Detroit Film Theatre

André Leon Talley has been a fixture in the world of fashion for so long that it’s difficult to imagine a time when he wasn’t defining the boundaries of great style.

A black and white photo of a woman singing in front of an organ from the film "Say Amen, Somebody!"

Say Amen, Somebody!

  • Sat, Feb 2, 2019 - 4:30 & 7:00 P.M. | Sun, Feb 3, 2019 - 2:00 & 4:30 P.M.
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Say Amen Somebody! was universally hailed as a masterpiece of documentary filmmaking upon its release in 1982.

A still of two girls from an animated film

The 2019 Academy Award® Nominated Short Films - animated and live action

  • Fri, Feb 8 - Thu, Feb 28, 2019 (dates and times below)
  • Detroit Film Theatre

As in previous years, the 2019 Oscar® Shorts program will present all five nominees in both the short animation and live-action short film categories in one spectacular presentation.

A woman carefully working on a large mural

The 2019 Academy Award® Nominated Short Films - Documentary

  • Sat, Feb 9, 2:00 p.m | Thu, Feb 14, 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Feb 23, 2:00 p.m., 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

We’re delighted to present again this year a program of all of the Academy Award® nominated short documentary films.

Never Look Away

Never Look Away

  • Fri, Mar 1 - 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Mar 2 - 7:00 p.m. | Sun, Mar 3 - 5:00 p.m. | Fri, Mar 8 - 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Mar 9 - 7:00 p.m. | Sun, Mar 10 - 5 p.m. , 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Visually rich and emotionally complex, Never Look Away is Germany’s Foreign Language submission to this year’s Academy Awards®.

Two traditional Japanese dolls

Japanese Girls Day | Hinamatsuri

  • Sat, Mar 2, 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. | Sun, Mar 3, 10:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m., 2019
  • Detroit Institute of Arts

Celebrate Hinamatsuri with a showcase of traditional arts and modern Japanese culture.

A baby napping with a tabby cat

CatVideoFest 2019

  • Sat, Mar 9 - 12:30, 3:00 & 5:00 p.m. | Sun, Mar 10 - 12:30 & 3:00 p.m., 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Exactly what the name suggests, the CatVideoFest is a hand-selected, curated collection of around 80 minutes’ worth of the most entertaining cat videos of the year.

Ruben Brandt, Collector

Ruben Brandt, Collector

  • Fri, Mar 15 - 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Mar 16 - 5:00, 7:00 & 9:30 p.m. | Sun, Mar 17 - 2:00 & 4:30 p.m., 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

Official submission for Best Animated Feature, 2018 Academy Awards®.

A painting by Ruben Toledo of Bill Cunningham photographing a woman while riding a bike

The Times of Bill Cunningham

  • Sat, Mar 16 , 2019
  • 2:00 PM
  • Detroit Film Theatre

The Times of Bill Cunningham is a documentary from Mark Bozek detailing the story of legendary New York Times fashion photographer Bill Cunningham.

Life and Nothing More

Life and Nothing More

  • Fri, Mar 22 - 7:00 p.m. | Sat, Mar 23 - 7 p.m. | Sun, Mar 24 - 4:30 p.m. , 2019
  • Detroit Film Theatre

A compassionate and involving story of an African American single mother, Regina, stressed by her restaurant job and doing her best to raise her two children in northern Florida.

Pages