Events

Drop-In Workshop: Picture Frames

Drop-In Workshop: Picture Frames with Polaroids

  • Fri, Nov 23
  • 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Use a variety of art-making materials, including beads, markers and colorful wire, to decorate a 5-by-7 inch frame made from corrugated cardboard.

Drop-In Workshop: Picture Frames

Drop-In Workshop: Picture Frames with Polaroids

  • 12 - 4 p.m. | Sat, Nov 24 & Sun, Nov 25
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Use a variety of art-making materials, including beads, markers and colorful wire, to decorate a 5-by-7 inch frame made from corrugated cardboard.

“Untitled (Group Portrait with Cameras, Belle Isle Conservatory, Detroit),” around 1970, attributed to Allen Stross, color transparency film. Detroit Institute of Arts

Collecting and Caring for Photographs Workshop

  • Sat, Nov 24
  • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
  • Detroit Institute of Arts

The Lost & Found exhibition features vernacular photographs from the DIA’s collection. These photographs, created by untrained photographers, show delightful and intimate scenes of everyday life.

Bojagi - Traditional Korean Gift Wrap

Drop-In Workshop: Bojagi - Traditional Korean Gift Wrap

  • 6 - 9 p.m. Fri, Nov 30 | 12 - 4 p.m. Sat, Dec 1 & Sun, Dec 2
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Korean women used traditional wrapping cloth, or bojagi, to cover, store, decorate, or carry gifts and objects of everyday life. Use cotton fabric and markers to create one of your own.

An example of printmaking notecards

Drop-In Workshop: Printmaking Notecards

  • 6 - 9 p.m. Fr, Dec 7 | 12 - 4 p.m. Sat, Dec 8 & Sun, Dec 9
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Use foam printing plates, water-based inks and a wooden stylus to create beautiful, one-of-a-kind hand-pulled prints on paper. Fold in half to make a card.  Envelopes are provided!

An example of patterns, symbols, and designs workshop

Drop-In Workshop: Patterns, Symbols, & Designs

  • 6 - 9 p.m. Fri, Dec 14 | 12 - 4 p.m. Sat, Dec 15 & Sun, Dec 16
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Use rubber stamps and fabric markers to give your own personal meaning to a decorated piece of silk fabric. 

Luminaries

Drop-In Workshop: Luminaries

  • 6 - 9 p.m. Fri, Dec 21 | 12 - 4 p.m. Sat, Dec 22 & Sun, Dec 23
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Explore infinite patterns and colors using tissue paper on a simple glass jar that you can illuminate at home with a small candle, like a tea light.

Winter Village

Drop-In Workshop: Winter Village

  • 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. Wed, Dec 26 & Thu, Dec 27
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Friends and family, food and drinks, ice skating and shopping are some things that might come to mind when you think about a winter village.

Winter Village

Drop-In Workshop: Winter Village

  • Fri, Dec 28
  • 12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Friends and family, food and drinks, ice skating and shopping are some things that might come to mind when you think about a winter village.

Winter Village

Drop-In Workshop: Winter Village

  • 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. Sat, Dec 29 | 11 a.m. - 4 p.m. Sun, Dec 30
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Art-Making Studio

Friends and family, food and drinks, ice skating and shopping are some things that might come to mind when you think about a winter village.